College Education (great? not so great?)

Satvik Shukla

Satvik Shukla / December 25, 2021

1 min read

College has been a great part of my journey to date. Without being a part of that program, I would not be in the position that I am in today. So as far as opportunities go, college was instrumental but what about the education itself?

For most of my college life, I did not want to be a Software Developer. My dream goal was to be in a more Machine Learning focused role given all the activities/classes I was able to participate in. That changed quickly after my first 'tech' internship at Hulu. I realized that the notions I had developed about software development were quite far from the truth. It was a lot more engaging and challenging, unlike everything I did in college.

I am grateful for all the ways college helped me in but I do hope that going forward we can have a better engineering curriculum that aligns more with the real world and gives students a clear picture of the road ahead.